Project view - Every Picture Tells a Story

 EnglishLatviešu
 

Project text:


 

The "Every Picture" project leaders recently enjoyed their first research trip. Six students spent a morning visiting Grimsby Central Library and the Town Archives followed by an afternoon experience at the National Fishing Heritage Centre to continue collecting information about the history of the school and town.

The day began in the reference section of the library with librarians, Jennie Mooney and Chrissie Hyde, where the students concentrated on researching the creation and development of Havelock as an educational establishment by looking at historical newspaper cuttings and old photographs of the school. Amongst other exciting discoveries, they found that when Carr Lane Council School, as it was then known, opened its doors on Wednesday 7th April 1937 it catered for both elementary and senior students, aged from five to sixteen years. It was the first school in the district to be run by the local authority. At its conception, just like today, Havelock was a pioneer in education.

The team then went over to the Town Hall to the Town Archives and were met by North East Lincolnshire Council Archivist, John Wilson, who had retrieved a selection of documents relating to Havelock including past sports day programmes, end of year newsletters and reports, and the first student roll from 1937 which was handwritten.

This short morning session at the library and archives raised many intriguing questions about Havelock. Why did the name change in 1957? Why and when did it become solely secondary education? When did it establish a sixth form and why did the sixth form close? How and why has the building changed and expanded over the years? How much of the original fixtures and fittings remain? These are just a handful of issues that came to light and will be researched over the coming months.

Following the morning's research the students then made their way around the National Fishing Heritage Centre where they met Education Officers, Laura Kirk, Jess Haughey and Collections Officer, Mark Tindle, and told them all about the project. The team at the Heritage Centre were really excited about their plans and immediately offered their services to help in any way they could.

After learning about the fishing heritage of Grimsby they ended the day with a guided tour on board the Ross Tiger, the first of the twelve "cat" class trawlers worked from the 1950s by the incredibly successful Ross Group of Grimsby. Fascinating information about the working conditions on the trawler and the fishing conditions of yesteryear was delivered by an experienced tour guide who is a former Ross employee and actually worked aboard the Tiger as a deck hand.

 

 

 

The day proved to be an incredible success, inspiring the students with more ideas for their individual research and meeting so many knowledgeable people who are taking an active interest in the project.

Relatives of students and other locals who have historical connections with Havelock and the East Marsh area were invited to bring in their old photographs of the school and surrounding area to share their memories and stories with the students working on the project. This proved to be a most rewarding morning and students will publish the photographs and memories.

The project contains these units:

Page 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ...  17
Carr Lane Elementary School was opened on Wednesday 3 April by Alderman J.H. Curry, J.P.
Nancy Sinderson (nee Thompson): I was a pupil at Carr Lane Elementary School from 1937, when it opened, return as a teacher in the Infant and Junior D
Gordon Wright Manager of British Olympic Team
Page 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ...  17


TrainLMS